Tigran Petrosian Vartanovich
(June 17, 1929 Tbilisi - 13 August 1984, Moscow)

Tigran Petrosian (Armenian Տիգրան Վարդանի Պետրոսյան, June 17, 1929, Tbilisi – August 13, 1984, Moscow), the Soviet chess player, the 9th World Chess Champion from 1963 through 1969, international chess master (1952), honoured master of sports of the USSR (1960), the four-time champion of the USSR (1959, 1961, 1969, 1975), the three-time champion of Moscow. Doctor of Philosophy, chess theorist and journalist, editor of the Chess Moscow monthly magazine (1963-1966), founder and chief editor of the “64” monthly magazine (1968-1977), the nine-time winner of the World Chess Olympics as a member of Team USSR. Nicknamed Iron Tigran for his unsurpassed skills in defense.

Tbilisi, WWII.

Yerevan, 1945. Petorsian (sitting, 2nd from the right) among the participants of the Armenian Chess Championship. G. Fridstein is sitting at the table in the centre.

Within one year, in 1952, Petrosian became the International Chess Master, the Grand Master of the USSR, and the International Grand Master!

The Candidates Tournament in Zurich in 1953. Left to right: Tigran Petrosian, Alexander Kotov, Paul Keres, Yuri Averbakh, and Efim Geller.

Zurich 1953. Petrosian (3rd from the left) among the soviet participants of the Candidates Tournament.

The USSR Championship in Tbilisi in 1959 brought Tigran Petrosian the first of his four gold medals in the USSR Championships! Lev Polugaevsky, Boris Spassky, Semen Furman, and David Bronstein are next to him wearing the legendary Svan hats.

The early 1960s. Tigran Petrosian with the outstanding chess coach Isaac Boleslavsky, who had been assisting him during three World Championship matches (1963, 1966 and 1969).

Interzonal tournament in Stockholm in 1962. Tigran Petrosian with Bobby Fischer and Efim Geller.

Victory at the Candidates Tournament in Curaçao in 1962 allowed Petrosian to challenge the reigning champion. He won his mini-match against Fischer with a score of 2.5 to 1.5.

Moscow, 1963. The World Championship Match against Mikhail Botvinnik was a serious test for the young contender.

Moscow, 1963. Tigran Petrosian as the 9th World Chess Champion!

Yerevan, 1963. The unforgettable welcome for the new King of Chess in Yerevan.

Moscow, 1963. The joint analysis session with Salo Flohr at the Central Chess Club.

Moscow, mid-1960s. The champion playing at the Central Chess School. Alexander Kotov, Yakov Rokhlin and Mikhail Tal are sitting.

The profundity of Petrosian’s style stems from his clarity of thought and unique understanding of every nuance of the game.

Petrosian meets his opponent at the World Championship match at the Central Chess School.

Such familiar profiles! The first match against Boris Spassky (Moscow, 1966) when Petrosian was able to defend his title.

Moscow, the late 1960s. Petrosian is at the peak of his career with Yakov Neishtadt and Mikhail Tal.

With his friend who later became a formidable opponent, Victor Korchnoy.

Petrosian had been leading the Spartak team for many years. A game with Mikhail Botvinnik.

Moscow, 1969. FIDE President Max Euwe opens the second match for the World Champion title against Boris Spassky, after which Petrosian was to become the ex-champion.

Yes, it is true, I like defending more than attacking, but who says defense is less dangerous and risky than offence? (Petrosian).

Belgrade, 1970. There had been a long chess era between the 5th (Euwe) and the 9th (Petrosian) World Champion - the era of Botvinnik!

“Match of the century” in Belgrade, 1970. Before the start of the first game with Bobby Fischer.

“Match of the century” in Belgrade. Unlike Curaçao, here Petrosian lost the mini-match with a score of 1 to 3.

Buenos-Aires, 1971. The final Candidates Match with Fischer ended with a crushing defeat for the Iron Tigran, the worst in his entire career (2.5 to 6.5)…

Victor Korchnoy and Yuri Averbakh at Petrosian’s country house during the preparation for the match with Fischer.

A happy duo: Tigran Petrosian and his wife Rona.

With his furry pet.

He had never become the World Champion in table tennis, but according to his colleagues, he played this game on a master’s level too.

Photography was another hobby of Petrosian. Shooting a movie.

The two Kings: Tigran Petrosian and Boris Spassky.

Petrosian has Casablanca’s technique and Schlechter’s intuition (Tal).

Moscow, 1979. Tigran Petrosian is 50!

The 9th World Champion was also a great commentator and journalist, who authored a lot of very interesting articles on chess problems.

Petrosian is a nine-time Olympic Champion, who has played the first board four times!

Looking for a perfect shot. Young Garry Kasparov at the board.

Chess Super Tournament in Bugojno, 1982. Games against Kasparov were always exciting.

One of the last photographs of Tigran Petrosian. Mikhail Tal is on the right.

The friends and the fans of Tigran Petrosian at his grave at the Armenian cemetery…

Biography

The 9th World Chess Champion Tigran Petrosian was nicknamed “the Iron Tigran” and “the Chess Lefty”. He got the first nickname for his unsurpassed skills in defense, while he was called “Lefty” for his unusual way of playing, which had been taking aback his most sophisticated opponents for decades.

He was hardly the darling of fortune: his mother died when he was a child, and his father, who worked as a cleaner at the officers’ community centre in Tbilisi, died soon as well. In the 1940s, Tigran took up chess, learning how to play the game from his mentor Archil Ebralidze at the community centre of the pioneer organisation in Tbilisi. Ebralidze was a big fan of Jose Capablanca, and Petrosian also became a life-long admirer of the great Cuban master, whom Tigran always sought to emulate.

When World War II ended in 1945, the 16-year old Petrosian put his name on the map by winning the junior chess championship of the USSR (and repeating his success for a second time the following year). 5 years later, Tigran Petrosian, who had by then moved to Moscow, split the second and the third prize with Efim Geller in the male Chess Championship of the USSR. In 1953, he took part in the Candidates Tournament in Zurich where he finished 5th.

A few more years went by, and Petrosian went for the World Chess Champion title in earnest. Twice (in 1959 and 1961) he won the USSR Chess Championship, demonstrating deep knowledge of setup, excelling at end-game, and putting up a skillful defense (every time he lost it was treated as a sensation). Eventually, his hour struck in 1962 at the Candidates Tournament on the island of Curaçao. Petrosian finished first without losing a single game out of 27(!), and earned the right to challenge the reigning champion Mikhail Botvinnik.

Mikhail Botvinnik was the patriarch of the Soviet chess school at the time, yet the 33-year old Tigran Petrosian won the match in 1963 with a score of 12.5 to 9.5, which made him the new World Chess champion. Moreover, for the next six years, just like his favorite master Casablanca, Petrosian had been remaining the reigning champion. In 1966, he defended the title against Boris Spassky with a score of 12.5 to 11.5. Three years later, he got dethroned by the same Spasskywith a score of 10.5 to 12.5.

For many years to come, however, Tigran Petrosian was regarded as one of the most formidable chess players on the planet: he won the USSR Champion title twice in 1969 and 1975, won the major international tournaments and the candidate matches. In 1979, at the age of 50(!), he won the Interzonal tournament (together with Portisch and Huebner).

Petrosian holds a multitude of impressive records. He completed six USSR Championships without a single loss. As a member of Team USSR at the 10 World Chess Olympics (between 1958 and 1978), he achieved an unprecedented result of 79 victories, 50 draws and just one loss. At his peak Tigran Petrosian was truly unbeatable. What he valued the most in chess was logic. “I’m convinced beyond the shadow of a doubt that there are no accidents in chess, and this is the principle I live by. I really like only those games where I followed the logic of the setup... I believe only in the logical, straightforward chess game,” the 9th World Chess Champion wrote.

He wrote a lot of articles, was chief editor of the “64” Magazine, started his own chess school and proved to be a gifted teacher. Tigran Petrosian died in Moscow in August 1984 at the age of just 55.

World Champions
about Tigran Petrosian

Anatoly Karpov

"Petrosian was just as good at combinations as Tal, but he often preferred to keep his talent in check and concentrate on building a strong position. "

Bobby Fischer

"Petrosian is great at seeing and tackling a threat 20 moves before it materializes! I was stunned by his uncanny ability to keep improving a position that was already very strong. He is definitely a very subtle player. "

Boris Spassky

"Petrosian was a chess player with a very fine-tuned intuition. In fact, good intuition is possibly the most important skill for a professional."

Mikhail Tal

"Petrosian is without doubt a phenomenal chess player. He played in such an interesting and profound manner, that sometimes what he anticipated as his opponents’ next moves in fact never even crossed their minds. He could smell danger a mile away."

Mikhail Botvinnik

"Petorsian has an uncanny talent to arrange his pieces on the board so deliberately that any attempt to attack them becomes a huge challenge. It is a very nuanced and rare style that is extremely hard to adjust to. I personally failed to do so and lost the World Championship match to him in 1963."

Max Euwe

"Petrosian is not a tiger that rushes and overwhelms his prey; he is more like a python that slowly chokes his prey, or like a crocodile that can wait for hours for the right moment to deliver a crushing blow."

Kasparov

"Petrosian was brilliant at creating positions full of harmony and life, with a colossal potential behind a bland façade and seeming lack of dynamism, where even the smallest changes were immediately noticed and dealt with, often in a series of strategic moves that left the opponent completely at a loss. The profundity of Petrosian’s style stems from his clarity of thought and his rare gift for understanding not just the overall situation on the board, but also of every nuance of tactics and strategy of the game."

Vladimir Kramnik

"Petrosian was the Defender in chess. He was the first grand master to demonstrate that almost any position could be defended. He showed that chess is a game with lots and lots of resources. Petrosian’s style was very sophisticated and hard to understand. There was something very mysterious about him…"

Тигран Вартанович Петросян
(17 июня 1929, Тбилиси — 13 августа 1984, Москва)

9-й чемпион мира по шахматам. Сохранял за собой чемпионское звание с 1963 по 1969 годы. Тигран Петросян получил звание международного гроссмейстера в 1952 году, стал заслуженным мастером спорта СССР в 1960-м. Он также был кандидатом философских наук. В составе сборной СССР - девятикратный победитель Всемирных шахматных Олимпиад. Четыре раза одерживал победу в чемпионатах СССР (1959, 1961, 1969, 1975), трижды становился чемпионом Москвы. Петросян считается самым труднопробиваемым игроком в истории шахмат: за свое непревзойденное искусство защиты был прозван «Железным Тиграном». Тигран Петросян был выдающимся шахматным теоретиком и журналистом. С 1963 по 1966 он был редактором газеты «Шахматная Москва», а в 1968 году основал легендарный еженедельник «64», который возглавлял до 1977 года.

Тбилиси, военные годы. Тигран, сын дворника Вартана.

Ереван, 1945. Петросян (сидит 2-й справа) среди участников чемпионата Армении. В центре за столом Г.Фридштейн.

За один 1952 год Петросян стал международным мастером, гроссмейстером СССР и международным гроссмейстером!

Турнир претендентов в Цюрихе, 1953. Слева направо: Тигран Петросян, Александр Котов, Пауль Керес, Юрий Авербах и Ефим Геллер.

Цюрих, 1953. Петросян (3-й слева) среди советских участников турнира претендентов.

Чемпионат в Тбилиси (1959) принес Тиграну Петросяну первую из четырех медалей чемпиона СССР! Рядом с ним в легендарных сванских шапках Лев Полугаевский, Борис Спасский, Семен Фурман и Давид Бронштейн.

Начало 1960-х. С выдающимся тренером Исааком Болеславским, который помогал Петросяну в трех матчах на первенство мира (1963, 1966 и 1969).

Межзональный турнир в Стокгольме, 1962. С Бобби Фишером и Ефимом Геллером.

Победа в турнире претендентов на Кюрасао (1962) открыла Петросяну путь к матчу на первенство мира. Свой мини-матч у Фишера он выиграл со счетом 2,5:1,5.

Москва, 1963. Матч за шахматную корону с Михаилом Ботвинником оказался серьезным экзаменом для претендента.

Москва, 1963. Тигран Петросян – девятый в истории шахмат чемпион мира!

Ереван, 1963. Незабываемая встреча шахматного короля в Ереване.

Москва, 1963. За совместным анализом с Сало Флором в Центральном шахматном клубе.

Москва, середина 1960-х. Выступление чемпиона мира в ЦШК. Сидят Александр Котов, Яков Рохлин и Михаил Таль.

Глубина стиля Петросяна – следствие ясности его мышления и редчайшего понимания всех тонкостей игры.

Встреча в ЦШК со своим соперником по матчу на первенство мира Борисом Спасским.

Такие узнаваемые профили! В первом матче со Спасским (Москва, 1966) Петросян сумел отстоять свой титул.

Москва, конец 1960-х. Золотые годы Петросяна! С Яковом Нейштадтом и Михаилом Талем.

Со своим другом, а потом непримиримым врагом Виктором Корчным.

Петросян был многолетним лидером команды «Спартака». Один из поединков с Михаилом Ботвинником.

Москва, 1969. Президент ФИДЕ Макс Эйве открывает второй матч на первенство мира с Борисом Спасским, после которого Тигран Петросян получил к своему титулу приставку «экс».

«Да, защищаться я люблю больше, чем атаковать, но кто доказал, что защита – менее опасное и рискованное занятие, чем атака!» (Петросян).

Белград, 1970. Между 5-м (Эйве) и 9-м (Петросян) чемпионами мира – целая шахматная эпоха… Ботвинника!

«Матч века» в Белграде, 1970. Перед началом первой партии с Робертом Фишером.

«Матч века» в Белграде, 1970. В отличие от Кюрасао, этот мини-матч Петросян проиграл со счетом 1:3.

Буэнос-Айрес, 1971. Финальный матч претендентов с Фишером закончился для «железного Тиграна» самым тяжелым поражением за всю карьеру (2,5:6,5)…

Виктор Корчной и Юрий Авербах на даче у Петросяна во время подготовки к матчу с Фишером.

Счастливый дуэт: Тигран Вартанович и Рона Яковлевна.

Со своим мохнатым любимцем.

В настольном теннисе он чемпионом мира не стал, но в силу мастера, по отзывам коллег, играл.

Еще одним хобби Петросяна была фотография. В роли кинооператора.

Два короля! Тигран Петросян и Борис Спасский.

«У Петросяна техника Капабланки, а чутье опасности – Шлехтера» (Таль).

Москва, 1979. Тиграну Петросяну – 50!

Девятый чемпион мира был превосходным комментатором и журналистом, автором интереснейших проблемных статей.

Петросян – девятикратный олимпийский чемпион, причем четырежды он играл на 1-й доске!

В поисках удачного кадра. За доской юный Гарри Каспаров.

Супертурнир в Бугойно, 1982. Поединки с Каспаровым всегда проходили в интересной борьбе.

Один из последних снимков Тиграна Вартановича. Справа Михаил Таль.

Друзья и поклонники Тиграна Вартановича Петросяна у его могилы на армянском кладбище…

Биография

IX чемпиона мира Тиграна Вартановича Петросяна называли «Железным Тиграном» и «Шахматным левшой». Свое первое прозвище он получил за непревзойденное искусство защиты, а «левшой» его назвали за необычную манеру игры, которая на протяжении десятилетий ставила в тупик самых искушенных соперников.

Он не был баловнем судьбы – рано потерял мать, а вскоре умер и отец, работавший дворником в Тбилисском Доме офицеров. В 40-х годах он начал заниматься шахматами в Тбилисском Дворце пионеров у тренера Арчила Эбралидзе – большого поклонника Капабланки. Великий кубинец на всю жизнь стал и его, Петросяна, кумиром, которому Тигран старался подражать.

Кончилась война, и уже в 1945 году 16-летний Петросян громко заявил о себе, выиграв юношеское первенство СССР (на следующий год он повторил свой успех). Прошло 5 лет: Тигран Петросян, переехавший к тому времени в Москву, стал призером мужского чемпионата СССР, разделил в нем 2-3 места с Геллером. В 1953 году он – уже участник турнира претендентов на первенство мира (в Цюрихе он занял почетное 5-е место).

Прошло еще несколько лет, и Петросян вплотную приступил к штурму шахматного Олимпа. Дважды (в 1959 и 1961 годах) он выигрывал первенство СССР, демонстрируя глубокое понимание позиции, высочайшую технику эндшпиля, а также замечательное мастерство в защите (каждое его поражение было сенсацией). Его час пробил в 1962 году, на турнире претендентов на острове Кюрасао. Петросян занял первое место, не проиграв ни одной из 27(!) партий, и завоевал право на матч с чемпионом мира Михаилом Ботвинником.

Этот матч, состоявшийся в 1963 году, подарил шахматам нового чемпиона мира. 33-летний Тигран Петросян выиграл поединок у патриарха советских шахмат со счетом 12,5:9,5. Шесть лет, как и его кумир Капабланка, Петросян был чемпионом мира. В 1966 году он защитил свое звание, выиграв матч у Бориса Спасского – 12,5:11,5. Спустя три года он все же вынужден был уступить шахматную корону тому же Спасскому, проиграв ему со счетом 12,5:10,5.

Тигран Петросян еще многие годы входил в число сильнейших шахматистов планеты: он дважды (в 1969 и 1975 годах) становился чемпионом СССР, выигрывал крупные международные турниры, претендентские матчи. В 1979 году, в возрасте 50(!) лет он стал (вместе с Портишем и Хюбнером) победителем межзонального турнира.

Петросяну принадлежит множество впечатляющих рекордов. Он провел без единого поражения 6(!) чемпионатов СССР. За сборную СССР на 10 Всемирных шахматных Олимпиадах (с 1958 по 1978) годы он добился невиданного результата – 79 побед, 50 ничьих и всего одно поражение. В годы своего расцвета Тигран Петросян был поистине непобедимым. Больше всего в шахматах он ценил логику. «Я глубоко убежден, что в шахматах нет ничего случайного. И это мое кредо. Я люблю только такие партии, где играл в соответствии с требованиями позиции… Я верю только в логичную, правильную игру», – писал девятый чемпион мира.

Он написал немало статей, был главным редактором журнала «64», открыл свою собственную школу и был превосходным преподавателем. Тигран Петросян умер в августе 1984 года в Москве, прожив только 55 лет.

Чемпионы мира
о Тигране Петросяне

А. Карпов

«Петросян умел комбинировать не хуже Таля, но сдерживал свой дар, играл чисто позиционно».

Р. Фишер

«Петросян хорошо умеет видеть и устранять опасность за 20 ходов до того, как она возникает! Меня поразило умение Петросяна, добившись отличной позиции, всё время находить маневры, усиливающие ее. Конечно, он очень тонкий игрок».

Б. Спасский

«Петросян был шахматистом с удивительно тонким чутьем. Может быть, для профессионала это вообще самый большой талант».

М. Таль

«Петросян – конечно, совершенно феноменальное шахматное дарование, настолько глубоко и интересно он играл, подчас находя за соперников идеи, которые тем абсолютно не приходили в голову. Он умел издалека «унюхать» опасность, угрозу…»

М. Ботвинник

«Петросян обладает удивительным талантом: он так проницательно ставит свои фигуры, что все нападения на них оказываются максимально затрудненными. Это очень тонкий и редкий стиль, и к нему трудно приспособиться. Я не сумел этого сделать и проиграл ему матч в 1963 году».

М. Эйве

«Петросян не тигр, который набрасывается на свою добычу, скорее он питон, который душит свою жертву, или крокодил, ждущий часами удобного момента для нанесения решающего удара».

Г. Каспаров

«Петросян в совершенстве владел искусством создавать гармоничные, полные жизни позиции, где за кажущимся отсутствием динамики таилась колоссальная внутренняя энергия (причем мельчайшие изменения тут же учитывались в общей, не всегда понятной сопернику, стратегии). Глубина стиля Тиграна Вартановича – следствие ясности его мышления и редчайшего понимания не только глобальных шахматных проблем, но и всех тонкостей тактики и стратегии игры».

В. Крамник

«Петросян – это первый Защитник с большой буквы. Это человек, который первым продемонстрировал, что можно защищать почти любые позиции. Он показал, что шахматы – игра с огромным количеством ресурсов. Петросян – очень глубокий, очень непростой для понимания шахматист. В нем есть что-то загадочное...»