Players

Alexander Grischuk
(October 31, 1983)
Russia
Rating Elo –
2795
Alexander Grischuk was born and lives in Moscow. It was his father who introduced him to the game when he was 4. His first coach was Mikhail Godvinsky; his later tutors were prominent coaches Maxim Block and Anatoly Bykhovsky.

Grischuk’s talent for chess manifested itself very early in his life: he began to participate, and with great success too, in national and international tournaments. Alexander has won the under 10, 12, 14 and 16 Russian Championships, coming second at the World U10 Championship. Grischuk became master at the age of 14 and was awarded the grandmaster title at the age of 16.

Grischuk’s first notable success came in November 1999 at the Chigorin Memorial Tournament in St Petersburg, in which dozens of grandmasters competed. Grischuk’s result was 1st, scoring 7/9, which put him ahead of Sergei Volkov. Following that, Alexander was first made a member of the Russian team, for which he successfully competes to this day, having won gold twice at the 2000 and 2002 Olympics and three times in the World Team Championships (in 2005, in 2010 and in 2013).

In the early 2000s, Grischuk successfully competed in a number of tournaments (Torshavn, Delhi, Wijk aan Zee, Aeroflot Open), with his rating rising beyond the then distinguished threshold of 2700. In March 2004, Grischuk shared 1st with Rublevsky in Poikovsky tournament, the same year he reached the quarter final in the World Championship. In November 2004 Grischuk took part in the first Russian Championship Super Finals. He finished second, ending up as the only competitor to challenge Garry Kasparov.

The late 2000s marked a new stage in Alexander’s career. In 2009 the Russian grandmaster scored victory in Linares and then became the champion of Russia. A year later he finished 2nd in Linares. 2011 also proved to be a banner year for Grischuk: he was in the Finals of the two most important competitions of the season – the World Championship and the Candidates series, thus becoming entitled to compete in the next Candidates cycle.

Alexander is credited for being a distinguished master at rapid chess. In 2006, Grischuk won the World Blitz Championship in Israel by defeating a friend of his Peter Svidler. Grischuk is known for his equally committed attitude to rapid and blitz chess and to classical chess tournaments. Alexander is a born chess player; he is praised for having nerves of steel and his ability to make decisions quickly – both of these help him to demonstrate excellent results in rapid chess. In the World Blitz Championship, which ended on July 10, 2012 in Astana, Alexander scored a resounding victory: he led most of the way, practically securing his victory even before the end of the tournament. Yet another success was achieved at the ACP World Rapid in Riga where Grischuk defeated Ian Nepomniachtchi in the final Armageddon tiebreaker. And finally in the European Club Cup held recently in Rhodes, Alexander Grischuk won gold playing on board 1 for the Ekaterinburg team Malachite. Alexander Grischuk is one of the key players of the Ekaterinburg team Malachite. Playing for his team he became the winner of the Russian Club Cup 2014 with a brilliant performance on the second board.

Участники

Александр Грищук
(31 октября 1983 года)
Россия
Рейтинг Эло –
2795
Александр Грищук родился и живет в Москве. Отец научил его играть в шахматы в четыре года. Первым тренером Саши был Михаил Годвинский, затем его наставниками стали известные педагоги Максим Блох и Анатолий Быховский.
Талант Грищука проявился рано: с детских лет он успешно выступал в турнирах на национальном и международном уровне. Александр побеждал на первенствах России в возрасте до 10, 12, 14 и 16 лет, на чемпионате мира «до 10 лет» занял второе место. В 14 лет Грищук стал мастером, в 16 получил звание гроссмейстера.

Первый большой успех к Грищуку пришёл в ноябре 1999 года на Мемориале Чигорина (Санкт-Петербург), в котором принимали участие десятки гроссмейстеров. Грищук занял первое место (7 очков из 9), опередив по коэффициенту Сергея Волкова. После этого Александр был впервые включен в сборную России. Он успешно выступает за национальную команду по сей день; в составе сборной он дважды побеждал на Олимпиадах (2000 и 2002) и трижды выигрывал командный чемпионат мира (2005, 2010 и 2013).

В начале 2000-х годов Грищук успешно выступил в целом ряде турниров (Торсхавн, Дели, Вейк-ан-Зее, Аэрофлот Опен), после чего его рейтинг перевалил за элитную тогда отметку 2700. В марте 2004 года Грищук разделил первое место с Рублевским на турнире в Пойковском, в том же году он дошёл до четвертьфинала Кубка мира. В ноябре 2004 года Грищук принимал участие в первом Суперфинале чемпионата России. Он занял второе место и стал единственным участником, который составил конкуренцию Каспарову.

Новый этап карьеры Александра начался в конце «нулевых». В 2009 году московский гроссмейстер побеждает на супертурнире в Линаресе, затем становится чемпионом России. В следующем году он занимает в Линаресе второе место. 2011 год также сложился для Грищука удачно: в двух важнейших соревнованиях, матчах претендентов и Кубке мира, он дошел до финала и обеспечил свое участие в следующем претендентском цикле.

Александр хорошо известен как выдающийся мастер быстрой игры. В 2006 году Грищук впервые стал чемпионом мира по блицу – на турнире в Израиле он в финале одолел своего друга Петра Свидлера. Известно, что Грищук относится к соревнованиям по быстрым шахматам и блицу не менее ответственно, чем к турнирам по классическим шахматам. Александр – прирожденный игрок, он отличается исключительно крепкими нервами и высокой скоростью принятия решений – это позволяет ему стабильно показывать в быстрых дисциплинах высокие результаты. В 2012 году на чемпионате мира по блицу в Астане Александр уверенно завоевал первое место, лидирую почти всю дистанцию. Новая победа пришла в столице Латвии на Кубке АШП по быстрым шахматам, где Грищук в финальном матче обыграл Яна Непомнящего в «Армагеддоне». Александр Грищук – один из ключевых игроков екатеринбургского «Малахита», в составе которого стал чемпионом России 2014 года, показав блестящий результат на второй доске.