Players

Alexander Morozevich
(July 18, 1977)
Russia
Rating Elo –
2724
Alexander Morozevich was born and lives in Moscow. He learnt to play chess while attending classes at the Young Pioneers’ Stadium, his first coach was Liudmila Belavenets; later he began to be coached by Vladimir Yurkov. Morozevich was still quite young when he began to make first achievements in chess, and he has since been renowned and admired by Moscow’s chess fans as a promising and genuine talent.

In 1994, aged only 17, Morozevich scored an early yet brilliant victory at the Lloyds Bank tournament in London, scoring 9.5/10 despite his challengers being renowned grandmasters. In the Intel Grand Prix tournament in Moscow the following year Morozevich defeated Anand with the white pieces in a king’s gambit. The number of this grandmaster’s admirers has been constantly growing ever since, both in Russia and abroad.

Morozevich has repeatedly proven himself capable to contend the top positions and tackle even the most experienced of opponents. He has gained victories in reputable international tournaments, the Olympics and other team competitions, has won the Russian Championship becoming a candidate for the world chess crown. He spent several years ranked among the top ten – and on occasions even among the top five – in the FIDE Chess Rankings.

Morozevich is widely considered to be one of the most unorthodox grandmasters of our time. He was never particularly strong at openings; on the contrary, he prefers to bring the culmination of the contest in mid-game. But even in the commonly known theoretical positions Alexander often manages to surprises his challengers, reviving old variations or discovering new possibilities within common patterns. And at that his originality manifests itself well beyond the chessboard as well, which obviously only adds to his popularity among chess fans.

Morozevich is not one to stop halfway; he always fights to the end, employing all resources available to continue with the game. For all that, Alexander regularly gives himself respites from professional chess. Some four years ago he practically ceased competing in contests. That had only served to fuel the interest in him. Following his comeback in 2011, which began with a victory in the Russian Chess Championships Higher League in Taganrog, success attended Morozevich’s numerous appearances: he shared second in the Super Finals and in Biel International Chess Festival and convincingly won in the Super Finals in Saratov. He started off as the runaway leader in the 2012 Tal Memorial, but an unfortunate slip later on prevented Alexander from clearing a new bar in his tournament participation history. In 2014, Morozevich won a gold medal in Poikovsky RUS.

Участники

Александр Морозевич
(18 июля 1977 года)
Россия
Рейтинг Эло –
2724
Александр Морозевич родился и живет в Москве. В детстве занимался шахматами на «Стадионе юных пионеров», сначала у Людмилы Сергеевны Белавенец, позже – у Владимира Николаевича Юркова. Первые успехи пришли к Морозевичу рано, и московские любители шахмат поняли, что растет большой и оригинальный талант.

В 1994 году, в семнадцатилетнем возрасте Морозевич поразил всех на турнире Ллойд-банка в Лондоне: в сильной гроссмейстерской «швейцарке» он завоевал первый приз с результатом 9,5 очков из 10. В следующем году на турнире «Интел Гран-при» в Москве Морозевич разгромил белыми Ананда в королевском гамбите. С тех пор количество поклонников гроссмейстера в России и за рубежом неуклонно растет.

Морозевич не раз доказывал, что в любом турнире вправе претендовать на самое высокое место. Если игра идет, Александр в состоянии справиться с самым опасным противником. Он побеждал в очень сильных международных турнирах, не раз выигрывал Олимпиаду и другие командные соревнования, был чемпионом России и претендентом на мировую корону. В мировой шахматной классификации он несколько лет находился в первой десятке и иногда – даже в первой пятерке.

Морозевич – один из самых оригинальных гроссмейстеров нашего времени. Он никогда не являлся крупным специалистом в дебюте – напротив, предпочитает переносить тяжесть борьбы на миттельшпиль. Но даже в хорошо известных теоретических позициях он зачастую преподносит соперникам сюрпризы, возрождая старые варианты или же находя новые идеи в типовых структурах. Он оригинален не только за доской, но и вне ее, и это, пожалуй, только добавляет ему популярности среди любителей шахмат.

Морозевич – противник полумер, он всегда борется до конца, использует все ресурсы для продолжения игры. При этом время от времени Александр «уходит из шахмат». Около четырех лет назад он почти оставил практические выступления. Вследствие этого интерес к нему только возрос. После своего возвращения в 2011 году, которое началось с победы на Высшей лиге в Таганроге, Морозевич выступал много и удачно: в Биле и в Суперфинале занял вторые места, на супертурнире в Саратове победил единолично. Был близок к победе на Мемориале Таля 2012 г., однако досадный срыв во второй половине соревнования не позволил Александру взять еще одну турнирную высоту. В 2014 году А. Морозевич занял первое место на турнире в Пойковском.