Players

Levon Aronian
(October 6, 1982)
Armenia
Rating Elo –
2797
Levon started playing chess comparatively late, at the age of 9. He was taught the art of moving chess pieces on the chessboard by his elder sister, but his talent was not long in manifesting itself: Levon became a World Youth Champion at a tender age of 12. This was the first in the long row of titles he has been awarded.

Subsequently, Aronian has repeatedly won youth tournaments. Among the landmarks in his ascent was his victory in the 2002 U20 World Championship in Goa. His family had by then moved from Armenia to Germany (where Aronian resides to this day), and the title of the “Prince of Chess” has greatly helped the grandmaster in his career, convincing him that he had made the right choice in life.

The mid-90s brought Aronian a series of wins in international tournaments. The first stage of his adult career in professional chess was concluded with a victory in the 2005 FIDE World Cup in Khanty-Mansiysk, which enabled the Armenian grandmaster to regularly compete in the Candidates tour. He soon firmly established himself among the top ranks of the chess world. Unlike the majority of chess players, Aronian took maximum advantage of the chance he was given: since he began to be invited to compete in elite tournaments, his participation in them has amounted to a series of impressive victories. He has victories in such reputable tournaments as Wijk aan Zee, Linares, Tal Memorial, Alekhine Memorial, Bilbao under his belt. In 2009 Levon achieved a resounding victory in the FIDE Grand Prix series.

Aronian is excellent as a team player who has been playing for Armenia’s team since 1999 when it won gold in the European Team Championships. Aronian has thrice won playing on board 1 for his country in the Olympics and once in the World Team Championship. His rating approached the fantastic threshold of 2800 several years ago and his achievements testify to his resolution to continue to grow as a chess player and improve his game. Levon Aronian is invariably regarded as one of the odds-on favorites in any chess tournaments around the world.

Aronian can boast his own peculiar, strongly pronounced playing style. He is an exceptionally unorthodox chess player who is incredibly good at dynamic positions. He is an acknowledged master of rapid chess, blitz chess and Fischer Random Chess.

Участники

Левон Аронян
(6 октября 1982 года)
Армения
Рейтинг Эло –
2797
Левон начал играть в шахматы достаточно поздно – ему было около 9 лет. Любопытно, что с ходами фигур его познакомила старшая сестра. Талант быстро проявил себя – уже в 12 лет Левон стал чемпионом мира среди юношей. Это был первый из завоеванных им титулов.

После Аронян не раз добивался побед в юношеских турнирах. Наиболее важным для молодого шахматиста был успех на турнире в Гоа (2002 год), когда Левон стал чемпионом мира среди юношей до 20 лет. К этому времени его семья переехала из Армении в Германию (в которой Аронян живет по сей день), и титул «шахматного принца» помог гроссмейстеру в карьере и убедил в правильности выбора.

В середине «нулевых» к Ароняну пришли крупные успехи в международных турнирах. Первый этап взрослой карьеры завершился победой на Кубке мира в Ханты-Мансийске (2005), после чего армянский гроссмейстер получил возможность регулярно участвовать в претендентском цикле. Вскоре он прочно прописался в элите. В отличие от большинства шахматистов, Аронян полностью использовал свой шанс: получив приглашения в элитные турниры, он начал не просто участвовать в них, но и регулярно побеждать. В его активе первые места в сильнейших соревнованиях нашего времени: в  Вейк-ан-Зее, Линаресе, Мемориале Тале, Мемориале Алехина, Бильбао. В 2009 году Левон убедительно выиграл серию турниров Гран-при ФИДЕ.

Аронян – отличный командный игрок, он выступает за сборную Армении с 1999 года, когда команда стала чемпионом Европы. На первой доске Аронян трижды приводил свою дружину к победам на Олимпиадах и один раз – к победе на чемпионате мира. Его рейтинг уже несколько лет находится в районе фантастической отметки 2800, и результаты гроссмейстера свидетельствуют, что он продолжает расти и развиваться как шахматист. В турнире любого уровня Левон Аронян – один из главных претендентов на победу.

Аронян обладает своим, ярко выраженным стилем игры. Это на редкость самобытный игрок, который исключительно силен в динамичных позициях. Является признанным мастером быстрой игры, блица и шахмат Фишера.